Our Board of Management consists of the following:

  1. Two direct nominees of the Patron.
  2. Two parents of children enrolled in the school (one being a mother, the other a father), elected by the general body of parents of children enrolled in the school.
  3. The principal teacher (or acting principal teacher) of the school.
  4. One other teacher on the staff of the school, elected by vote of the teaching staff.
  5. Two extra members proposed by the nominees, (1) –(4)  above.

This term’s Board of Management members for 2020-2024 are as follows;

John Farrell Chairperson
Fr. John Delany Patron’s Nominee
Ed Bourke Principal
Siobhan O’Brien Staff Nominee
Conor Mc Kenna Parents Nominee
Breed Kinsella Parents Nominee
Breed Kinsella Treasurer
Linda Walsh

Richard Cross

Community Nominee

Community Nominee

Functions of the Board of Management

Boards of Management are responsible for the direct government of schools. The duties of the Board of Management include the following:

▪   The appointment of teachers and ancillary staff;

▪   Approving school closures;

▪   Approving teacher absences for a variety of reasons;

▪   The appointment of teachers to deputy/principal and other posts of responsibility;

▪   Ensuring compliance with relevant legislation; and

▪   Ensuring that schools are adequately insured and maintained.


Specific duties of the Chairperson of the Board of Management include;

▪   Acting as a correspondent with the Department of Education and Skills and all outside bodies;

▪   Presiding at Board of Management meetings;

▪   Signing the monthly returns and annual statistical returns; and

▪   Serving on the selection board for the appointment of teachers.

Our Board of Management work very hard in a voluntary capacity for the benefit of all the children in St. Patrick’s N.S. and it is very much appreciated by all.